Recipes

Recipe: Vegetarian Chili

OK, so I have never made a vegetarian chili before,  but I have been trying to get away from eating tonnes of red meat and pork and all that stuff.  Also, I love my crock pot.  So I saw this recipe in Soups and Stews Recipe Book I have from Williams-Sonoma.  So I decided to put it to the test.

Again, as with the Tofu Tacos, I was delightfully surprised.  I had not used all the seasonings that are in this chili before but it turned out rather well.  The only thing I added was a touch of cinnamon, some green peppers and some left over mushrooms I had in the fridge, just to make a bigger pot of food.

Try it.  If you don’t like it, you don’t like good food.  HA!

Vegetarian Chili

2 cups (or cans) of red and white beans

2 white onions, chopped

5 cloves garlic, minced

1 tablespoon and one teaspoon of both dried oregano and cumin

1 teaspoon dried coriander

1 tablespoon paprika

1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper (I put about a tablespoon, plus some chopped chilies I had in my freezer)

1/4 cup chili powder (I have some really good stuff from a market in Montreal)

1.5 cups canned diced tomatoes

1 jalapeno (I used 2), minced

5 cups vegetable stock

1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar

3 tablespoons finely chopped fresh coriander – for a garnish when done

salt

So those are the ingredients, what I did was prepped it all and through it in my crock pot, then turned it on high for about 6 hours.  Then I stirred it and ate it.  Simple, good and fast to prep.

So, try it out and let me know what you think.  With a couple extra green and red peppers and a handful of mushrooms, it was lunches for the week.

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Recipe: Vegetarian Chili

  1. I simply want to tell you that I am all new to weblog and truly liked you’re web-site. Very likely I’m planning to bookmark your site . You amazingly come with superb articles. Thank you for revealing your web site.

Leave a Reply

